It’s the best and the worst day.

April 14, 2013 § Leave a comment

Today is April 14th, 2013. My grandma died six years ago today, but it’s also my best friend’s birthday. Bittersweet is an understatement.

I’ve wrestled with this for awhile because I want to celebrate my grandma’s life, regardless of the fact that it’s over. I have a tattoo I got in memory of her (see below) so I can carry her with me wherever I go, and that’s helped with the healing process. But I honestly think the best way I can remember her is the way I see her in other people. And I can’t think of a more fitting person than my friend Mindy, who turns 21 today.

Mindy and I have shared a life together, and it’s been amazing. The past year has been hard for us (which is mostly my fault) but her unfaltering love is really amazing. I know she’ll be here when I need her. No matter how angry we are with each other, no matter how much we’re screaming, no one hangs up the phone. We keep talking.

My grandmother always told me that family is for life, that no matter how angry we are with each other, we’re supposed to be there. That wasn’t always present in our family, and that killed my grandmother. It’s still not the case now, though it should be. (Yes, Bill, I’m talking about you.) But it’s the case with Mindy. She is the shining example of what unconditional love is. She is one of the best people in my life, and she’s the pinnacle of what my grandmother wanted me to keep around.

So here’s to you, Melinda Marie Rosen. Here’s to your infectious smile, your goose honk of a laugh, your talents, your generosity, and your big, big heart. You’ve taught me a lot about what being a family means and I am grateful to have found it with you and with yours. I know my grandmother when she saw us together, and I’m confident that that she’s smiling now, somewhere. Ti amo, bella ragazza. The happiest of birthdays, party as HARD as you can, and know that I love you very much.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading It’s the best and the worst day. at Searching for Peter Parker.

meta

